Posted on / by avilramon / in Uncategorized



In a list which was put together by Baseball Hall of Famer Ted Williams, published by Triple Play Baseball, he’d made a list of the of the top 20 Hitters of All Time. Here they are: Babe Ruth, Lou Gehrig, Jimmy Foxx, Roger Hornsby, Joe Dimaggio, Ty Cobb, Stan Musial, Joe Jackson, Henry Aaron • Willie Mays • Hank Greenberg, Mickey Mantle, Tris Speaker, Al Simmons, Johnny Mize, Mel Ott, Harry Heilmann, Frank Robinson, Mike Schmidt, AND Ralph Kiner. 

William is most likely the most consistent hitter of the 500 home run hitters. He had a batting average of .344, to add two Triple Crown (1942, 1947) awards. He also was the AL batting champion six times (1941, 1942, 1947, 1948, 1957, 1958), and two Most Valuable Player Awards (1946, 1949). 

Yet if one sees this list three strikes! Strike one-Just like the All Century Team there are no Latinos! Roberto Clemente won 4 batting titles, and has 3,000 hits. Rod Carew has 3,053 career hits and 7 batting titles. Also, Tony Oliva won 3 batting titles, and if not for injuries most likely would’ve gotten over 3,000 hits. If Ralph Kiner and Joe Jackson are added, why not Oliva? In addition, two of the most consistent hitters in the game, Orlando Cepeda and Tony Perez, have more career home runs than Ralph Kiner. However, none of those Latino players mentioned did not make Ted Williams’ list.

Strike Two-Negro League ballplayers not included. No Josh Gibson, no Buck Leonard, no Martin Dihigo, no Tetelo Vargas, no Cool Papa Bell, or no Oscar Charleston. 

Strike Three-No catchers. No Johnny Bench, Yogi Berra, Ivan Rodriguez, Josh Gibson, Mike Piazza, Carlton Fisk, or Roy Campanella.

To add to the strikes, why wasn’t Tony Gwynn, Wade Boggs, George Brett,  or Al Kaline added to this list when all four of those players have over 3,000 hits! Ken Griffey Jr and another center fielder Duke Snider should’ve been on the list.

Here’s another strike, no shortstops!  Honus Wagner! Where is he! Wagner won eight National League batting titles. What Ty Cobb was in the American League in the dead ball era, Wagner was to the National League. 

Ernie Banks, who won back to back Most Valuable Player awards in 1958 and 1959  should’ve been added as well! So was this based on personal opinion or expert opinion?

Leave a Reply

Previous Next
Test Caption
Test Description goes like this